Poof! ESPN Zone Gone.

Combining Interests.

So, the East Coast ESPN Zones are shutting down.  This should come as no surprise to anyone who has ever been to an ESPN Zone.  The ESPN Zone was what happened when a group of executives got around a table and said, “Do you think we could make a more corporate, less fun and more expensive Dave and Busters?”  Done. And. Done.  My ESPN Zone experience was limited to Baltimore, so right off the bat it’s lagging behind just because of the smell in the Harbor, but things didn’t improve that much once you went inside.  It’s failure brings to light that you can’t combine just anything with a bar and expect it to work.  Sports Arcade/Bar sounds like a total lay-up, and it should be, but ESPN managed to take the pipe on it, well played.  I can’t believe that any place that had Pop-A-Shot would ever close.  I do have my own ideas for things that should be combined with bars.  First, book stores.  Tell me all those characters at Barnes and Noble wouldn’t like to crush a craft brew while lingering like no one’s business.  Second, a driving range.  If you like hitting balls, you’ll like it better with a buzz.  See, it comes with a slogan.  What would you combine with a bar?

***

Jamie Moyer is my least favorite Phillie of all-time.  Why couldn’t the Yankees just have scored 4 runs off of him?  We had Ruben Amaro on the brink, stuttering like a moron, claiming there was no real problems…it was all there for the taking, and we get stuck with another smoke and mirror game.  Moyer wins!  The offense breaks out!  Yeah, six hits, great.  Murderer’s Row.  I’m not letting Amaro off the hook.  I assume they’re going to lose the series tomorrow, and we’ll go from there.  Moyer makes me furious, Chase Utley just making me real, real sad.

***

We had a request for some US Open predictions in the comments section, and I realized that in my attempt to not go into golf overload, I might have undersold the sumbitch a little bit.  The US Open is a time to be excited and to get ready to stare at the television set with a childlike wonder for hours on end.  The Masters is stingy with their coverage, the USGA saturates the market.  How does nine hours sound…on Thursday.  Oh, yes, please.  We’ll get every breath Tiger takes, and every awkward smile Phil makes.  I appreciate the Masters flipping off the common man every year with their 4-7 pm glimpse, but America’s tourney, broadcast the hell out of it, and they do. Moving on…

If I Could Pick the Winner:  David Duval.  Duval wins, then says to the gathered fans and media, “I told you I would be good again,” he then throws the trophy into the Pacific Ocean and is never seen again.  Runner Up:  Tom Watson.

The One Person I Hope Doesn’t Win:  Tom Lehman.  Hate Lehman.  Beat Fred in a playoff at the Senior PGA, choked away US Opens in his prime like his life depended on it.  For him to get one now, well, I’d puke.  Runner Up:  Mike-Angel Jimenez….yourrrr weird.

Amateur Most Likely to Shoot a Million: Kevin Phelan.  He’s 19.  He’s Irish.  He’ll probably be trying to score Paddy Harrington’s autograph.  Settles down Friday to break 80.

Low Amateur:  I was going to go with Byeong-Hun An, the US Amateur Champion who got some experience at Augusta, but doing a bit of research, I see we’ve got a hot amateur in the field.  Scott Langley is the NCAA Champion, and won his sectional qualifier.  These young guys can get on good streaks and surprise in majors, Ryan Moore, Matt Kuchar, etc.  I think Langley makes the cut.

Player You’ve Maybe Heard of who Could Shoot 159:  That’s two rounds by the way.  I’m not sure anyone will go double-Jerry Rice.  My first pick here is to go with Michael Campbell, the former champ.  He’s a mess.  My second candidate for known-DAL is…Ty Tryon.  Remember him?  Made a cut at 16, said something like “college wasn’t for him,” turned pro, and dropped off the face of the planet.  He’s back.  Well, I always thought Tryon was a bit of a mutt, so now that he’s an adult, I’ll go ahead and throw him in the DAL mix.

Low Young American:  Ryan Moore.  I mentioned him up top, and he did have a good amateur outing at Augusta.  It’s taken a long time for his game to fully mature, and I loathe his attire, but this is a good spot for him.  Good ball-striker, par will be a solid score, I expect him to be in contention.  I like him more than the more popular Mahan and Dustin Johnson picks.

Ah, What the Heck, Tiger’s Totals: 74-70-72-73= +5 and T-11th.

35 thoughts on “Poof! ESPN Zone Gone.

  1. Ty Tryon? Really? I thought he . . . actually I hadn’t thought about him since approximately 1999, and only then because he was a character in Tiger Woods golf for the original playstation. He must be about 30 by now, right? And overweight and balding?

    I’ve brought this up before but, Michael Campbell, Worst US Open Champion Ever? Steve Jones is a veritable Bruce Summerhays by comparison.

    • He’s married and a total train wreck. He was playing on the Japan tour or something crazy like that, they did a “where is he now” article on him a year or so ago.

      Side note: How f-ing awful is your life when you’re 25 and people are doing “where are they now” articles on you b/c you’ve completely bungled your career and talent away? When you hit rock bottom at that age, what’s left? I think you just go billy bob thornton in bad santa.

  2. Tryon may be balding. I don’t think he’s fat…yet. Though that would be amazing.

    I’ll buy Mets season tickets before I root for Jamie Moyer.

  3. i actually went to an ESPN Zone for the first time a couple weekends ago…in Baltimore.

    Did you try that batting cage thing? Impossible. It is a giant video screen of some pitcher in his windup, and when it gets to the release point the ball flies out of this little hole in the screen. Even though it is timed with his windup, it is almost impossible to follow, plus they’ve got some sort of mood lighting going on and it’s way too dark.

    Anyways, I went in there on the 60mph setting, foul tipped one, hit one pretty hard grounder, and whiffed on all the others. It was pretty embarrassing. I was in a regular cage a few weeks earlier and could hit fairly ok in the 80mph cage, so I was expecting to go in and dominate. I was wrong.

    There was a girl who was probably about 11 who went in 3 or so times. Thankfully I did better than her.

    • I hammered the S out of Nolan Ryan in that thing. True story. Doubles to right field alllllll day on that mutt. F your curve. Lefties own you.

  4. Another story where you can’t hit. I’m sensing a pattern.

    I haven’t hit off any kind of pitching machine since high school. I don’t remember exactly what I played at espn zone. I know I threw footballs, maybe boxing? It was all terrible.

  5. I forget another story where I couldn’t hit. I must have made it up though, because this is the first and only time that’s happened. Ever.

  6. Really? Tom Lehman? I though for sure that Sean O’Hair would be at the top of the list.

    Side story about O’Hair, very short edition:

    At a sushi place and I saw a fellow Kennett member, his name is Jeff. I busted Jeff’s balls about being there. He’s not a sushi kind of guy. He said he was there to meet someone and he didn’t really like sushi.

    I said, “Oh for business?” He replies, “Yeah, kinda.”

    Things were awkward and he walks outside.

    He waits around for a little bit and who does he stroll in with? Sean O’Hair.

    Now I’ve played golf with Jeff and I know him through the club and all of that shit. He knows I like golf and all of that shit too. He walks in, looks at me, I look at him and he goes right to his seat.

    No intro, no handshake, nothing. If I was not next to the door, I get it. But you make eye contact, and all of that you gotta do an intro.

    I’m not a Sean O’Hair fan or anything, but I just think an intro should be in order here.

    Anyway. Jeff acts like he’s big time with O’Hair and stiffs me. It’s gonna be cold the next time we’re on the course together…If I let that happen.

    • If you had any sack you would’ve made it awkward right there, pulling lines from SNL. “Is that Sean O’hair with you Jeff??? I can’t see real good over here. Anyone know who Sean O’Hair is????” Just getting in his face and everything. Make a scene. That would’ve been AWESOME.

      Also, who gets Big Leaguin’ when they’re with Sean O’hair-or any PGA golfer not names Tiger or Phil for that matter? Isn’t that akin to trying to big league someone with an MLS player?

      • If I did that, it would have been classic.

        I was confused too about the semi-big time act. he could have been like, “Oh Will, this is my friend Sean.” I say hi, we exchange some small words and away you go.

        Even if it wasn’t Sean O’Hair. It could have been some bum he works with. Once you establish eye contact, something has to be said.

        This has potential for a Curb episode, no?

  7. It’s not that I hate O’Hair, it’s that I just have no interest in his existence.

    If he won, it’d be annoying, but nothing like Lehman.

    That’s an interesting story. sounds like someone didn’t you to embarrass him in front of sean o’hair…haahha.

    seriously, who cares, though.

    didn’t you meet him when he was at RG?

    • Met him at RG. It was embarrassing because Funk was dusting off a Fairway and Green pullover as a gift to him. We really did things classy over there.

      And Jeff didn’t know that I met him before. An intro is in order there. Did he avoid an intro because he thought I would ask for an autograph or a picture?

      Ahhhhh, whatever.

  8. He obviously thought you were going to be that guy.

    Like, “oh sean o’hair, schweet. What are the five schweetest courses on tour? How much schweet stuff do you get for free? Can I get some schweet passes for aronastink?”

    • agreed. It’s a joke.

      They won’t even let pgatour.com do it, for obvious reasons, but they have no clue what they are doing.

  9. That’s basketball, right?

    How about Briere causing the pile-up on the interstate? That could have been ugly.

  10. I would have traded Dalembert for a bag of navy beans. Only thing I don’t understand is why people are saying the Sixers might take Derrick Favors instead of Evan Turner in the draft. Are they thinking you can’t teach height? What is going on here?

  11. Early call: +4 wins the US Open.

    No rain, lots of sun and a some wind…Recipe for disaster.

    If you shot +6 or better today, you’re done. You can look at the +4 prediction and say, “well you’re only two off the predicted winning score.”

    But I don’t think many players will shoot under par after today’s round. This is the easiest the course will play. You better finish today at even or better and hold on for dear life.

  12. Yeah, its surprisingly tough. Only six guys under par for the morning?

    That’s insane. So firm and fast. Its going to be crispy over the weekend. Should be fun.

  13. Ryan Moore on 17: Announcer says ‘what is he doing, that looks like a lot of club?’ He then proceeds to airmail 17, and land the ball on the 18th tee, against the bench & railing. Amazing. I think the group behind them actually played through, which i have never seen in a pro tourney? Shouldn’t pride always step in and not allow you to hit lumber into a par 3?

  14. Yeah that was puzzling. And nice to see all my picks playing atrocious, as usual.

    I have no explaination for misclubbing by that much. You want to say bad yardage, but its hard to get a bad yardage on the tee of a par three.

    I think the only way it could have been more embarrassing is if he had fallen in the water taking his drop.

Leave a comment