Super Bowl Seating Fiasco Proves the Great Truth.

 

Games are Better on TV.

 

Several times a year I’ll hear someone give baseball a hard time, go off on a wild diatribe about how they’d rather watch a heated game of bridge at the local rest home than a live baseball game.  It’s boring.  Nothing happens.  It’s slow. I don’t disagree with some of those points.  In person, your everyday baseball game can be boring.  Sometimes they drag on for hours with no end in sight (see every time the Yankees play the Red Sox), but what I don’t understand is how these same people go to and enjoy football games.  I like going to football games, but I have my limits.  I’d say maybe two regular season games a year is my perfect number.  I like to tailgate.  I like to hang out and have a couple of drinks, but once that game starts I must think 1,000 times, “I miss my remote control.”  Football in person is incredibly slow, slower than baseball could ever dare to be.  Football is a TV sport.  Hockey is great live.  Baseball falls somewhere in the middle.  Just to note, I’m speaking mostly of regular season games here.  All post-season games are inherently more exciting, though the TV breaks during the Super Bowl must be insufferable.

Fans still pour into stadiums, though.  They brave the elements, they pay ridiculous premiums for beer and food, they put up with downtime and limited highlight opportunities all so they can say they were at the game.  Did you see that game?  Well, I WAS THERE!  It’s a big deal, and people measure part of their fandom based on how many games they attend and the fervor they reach while in attendance.  Someone with a 18-game Phillies plan might consider them a pretty big fan, but in truth if those are the only games they really watch they are likely dwarfed by the person who watches every inning on Comcast.  There are just different ways to go about the experience.

Of course, this week we hear about a new reason to attend the games in person.  Perhaps something will go wrong and you can sue everyone who ever set foot in Cowboys Stadium to the tune of 5 million dollars.  I do have some sympathy for the people here, because they were victims of Jerry Jones’ greed.  He wanted to have the highest attendance of all-time for a Super Bowl, and so he rigged up some temporary stands.  When those stands weren’t up to code before game-time hundreds of fans were left without a place to sit.  I imagine the disappointment was incredible.  If people put value on going to games live, if they attach it to their self-worth, imagine what the Super Bowl must mean for them?  Think of the dang VISA commercials with the old guys who revolve their lives around going to the game.  These people were waiting for their, “I was there,” moment, and it was taken away from them.

It sounds to me, at least initially, that the NFL was trying to do what they could to help these fans.  Now, the NFL being what it is, the process surely was bungled to some extent.  Some fans were relocated within the Stadium.  From what I understand others were forced to watch the games on television somewhere on the Stadium premises, which doesn’t exactly count for going to the game.  They were plied with complimentary gear and refreshments, guaranteed a ticket to the next Super Bowl and given 300% of their money back, which comes to 2,400 dollars.  Now, I imagine many spent more than 1,600 on travel and accommodations, and so maybe the fans have the right to a bit more generous settlement, but for those looking for reasonable compensation, their case is sullied by this lawsuit that is asking for about 50 thousand dollars per plaintiff.  I mean, come on.

It’ll be interesting to see how this all plays out.  I think the more the people complain, the worse they will look. Eventually, people are going to say, “Oh, you had to watch the screen and go on the field after the game?  You got a couple grand?  You poor babies.”  I think there is some inherent risk in going to a game, buying a ticket, or whatever.  Of course, you could just do the smart thing and watch the game on television.  How else would you get to see the commercials?

Quiz of the Day: Five 35-Plus Homer Seasons with the Same Team.  Category: Baseball.  My Score, 29/31

*After BK beat me yesterday, I wanted to set the bar pretty high.  Also, since we were talking about Albert Pujols earlier, this seems appropriate.  He’s one the answers…you’re freebie.

17 thoughts on “Super Bowl Seating Fiasco Proves the Great Truth.

  1. I’m sure you can poke around and find something on par with the fruits quiz to share. I’ll try to be more diplomatic tmmrw.

  2. Lindsay found the fruit quiz the other night and absolutely dominated me in a non-sexual way.

    by the way, you’re not a sportswriter.

    • Hahahaha.

      Look man, if you don’t like what I have to say you can read something else.

      Or, you can keep coming back and driving yourself insane.

      PS, I loved your interaction with the mutt whose suit you were making fun of. Yikes. What a stone moron. I clicked on his blog and the first 10 posts are baseball position rankings with no commentary. It’s like, Albert Pujols 9.23, Adrian Gonzalez 9.01, Prince Fielder 8.86. And it just goes on and on…

      Too much.

    • I think it’s a non-story. Only worth reporting because the Phils are kind of big hitters these days. I’d equate this to an even less serious version of the pujols/howard trade story.

      I imagine the Phils probably called and were like, “oh young wants out? How you feel about Ibanez? …No? Ok, later.”

      Young makes a ton of money, they don’t really have a place for him and at least for now, Texas wants real value in return.

  3. Looks like Sporacle might need its posting.

    As for the lawsuit, as I understand it, the NFL only offered those packages to the 400 or so fans that didnt get a seat, but did nothing for the 800 that were relocated and could still see the game. Maybe that is wrong. But, if that is the case, I think the other 800 have a claim and the lawsuit makes sense. At the end of the day, its going to be settled for much less than what they are asking.

    I would however like to see Jerry Jones slapped with a nice personal judgment because it was his greed that ultimately led to this fiasco. Something in the lines of whatever percent of the profit on the game he realized for those 1200 people. About 1% of the profits, maybe? I have no idea how much these teams/owners make off hosting the superbowl, but it had to be significant. I think this is a situation where punitive damages would serve their purpose. Want to go big, ok. But if you fuck it up, youre going to pay. Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

