Feels Like a Slow Afternoon.

Not Molina Slow, but Slow.

Hopefully not for you, but nothing is really popping into my brain this afternoon.   I think I exhausted every single avenue to look for something to talk about, which involves me going to two, sometimes three, different web sites.  But, I don’t want to talk about the NBA Draft Lottery (is there a single worthwhile prospect available?).  And, a trip to Yahoo found the Big Mac guy as a trending topic.  You know the guy that eats 2 Big Macs a day?  Well today he hits 25,000.  I don’t care about this guy at all.  Do we have to make a big deal out of every 5,000 Big Macs this clown eats?  I did for a second think if I’ve possibly eaten 25,000 slices of pizza.  That’s the equivalent of 3,125 whole pizzas.  The scary/disgusting amazing thing is, I’m probably pretty close.  I’ll get there someday.  Anyway, there’s nothing schweet happening today.  I didn’t find a new apple varietal.  So, I’m cruising this afternoon on auto-pilot.

***

MLB Underdog of the Day.  Yesterday’s Result:  Loss.  Financial Report Card: (-605 Dollars). 

Are you kidding me Yankees?  What was that?  I’m sitting there, watching patiently as Cliff Lee walks everyone (also the hitters’ fault) and wondering if the Phils can muster a rally when I glance at the out-of-town board.  I see the Yankees, clubbing away at the Rays with a 5-1 lead going into the sixth.  I almost started gloating about a 3-game streak, but I said, let me get this in the book…then, I’ll start chattering.  A couple of ground balls to 2nd base later I look up and the Rays are up 6-5.  Poof.  Streak over.  I blame Posada.

Today’s Selection:  Philadelphia (+135) over St. Louis.

Because, when things are a little bleak, sometimes you have to support the squad.  I’m sure many fans out there have no interest in my support.  Well, here’s a pole.  Go attack it.  The Phils haven’t been significant dogs all year, so why not? Absolutely nothing points to them winning this game.  Seems as good a time as any to cash in.  Roy Oswalt sounds like he’d rather be Jed Clampett (pre-Texas Tea), but whatever.  Give me the home team.  Ride or Die.

***

Top 10 Pasta Shapes:

  1. Shells
  2. Penne Rigate
  3. Rotini
  4. Gemelli
  5. Fettuccine
  6. Mafalda
  7. Farfalle
  8. Orecchiette
  9. Elbow Macaroni
  10. Spaghetti

***

Quiz of the Day: Add A Letter.  Category:  Even More Anglish.  My Score: 20/31.  

This one takes some patience.  Read the directions!  I don’t know what to make of my score.  I did give up before the time ran out.  This is for serious word people only.  Others will strain themselves.

10 thoughts on “Feels Like a Slow Afternoon.

  1. Farfalle is bow-tie.

    #7.

    The thing I don’t like about Bow-Tie if we are breaking it down is that the little “knot” if you will in the center seems to take a bit longer to cook than the rest of the noodle.

    so, you really have to keep a close eye on them. otherwise they can get overcooked if you are waiting for the knot, or you can yank ’em early.

    that’s ADVANCED WATER BOILING KNOWLEDGE.

  2. i’m not even sure exactly what al dente is technically. I know what it means, but I don’t know if I’ve ever had a real cook present me with al dente pasta.

    I like it the instant it is cooked all the way through, which might be slightly softer than al dente?

  3. 21/31

    i used up all the time. i was struggling and then whatever part of my brain that deals with this sort of puzzle activated and i went on a hot streak. i think i would have gotten about 5 more if i had more time, i missed some of the easier ones.

    did you know the name of all those pasta shapes off hand or did you have to look at pictures to and see what they were called? i haven’t heard of a few of those.

  4. Kegasus. Haha.

    The Preakness is good for about one horribe/morally questionable idea a year.

    They better have some serious security in place for the bikini contest.

  5. Capellini left off? Are you high???? Woooowwww……and don’t try and pass spaghetti off as capellini either.

  6. actually I am high right now.

    Um, here’s a little Peter King nugget for you, I don’t like that thin nonsense. Deal with it.

Leave a Reply

