Mavs Remind Everyone of the Importance of Hate Bait.

Heat Couldn't Outrun the Bear.

I’m sure everyone has heard a variation of this adage.  If you ever happen to be amongst a group of people who are being chased down by a deadly bear, you don’t have to outrun the bear.  You just have to outrun the slowest person in the group.  That is what came to mind as I watched this Heat/Mavericks series develop.

The Heat are an interesting team. They are the biggest bandwagon team in the league.  They sell the most jerseys, and yet, they are also cast as the ultimate villain.  People have gotten into their heads that Miami is everything that is wrong with professional sports.  Personally, I don’t feel that way.  I didn’t like anything about how last off-season went down, but my distaste of the Heat isn’t really centered on LeBron James.  It’s their fan base, which I consider incredibly undeserving of this team or this title that ultimately ended up in Dallas.

While everyone was hating on Miami, though, there was a complimentary action.  The Mavericks became a darling.  This is the reaction that makes people wonder, what is so great about Dallas?  Why should I root for Dallas?  Dirk Nowitzki is suddenly a well-liked superstar?  Before this series he had less charisma than foot stool.  Jason Kidd?  All Mark Cuban does is rub people the wrong way, and we’re supposed to be rooting for this team?  The truth is, the Mavericks aren’t a team you’d look at and say, there’s a fan favorite. In this case they were simply the lesser of two evils for a lot of people.  They were the 2nd slowest guy running away from the bear.  And, that’s all you really need in sports these days.

As I watched the Mavericks win, all I really felt was a sense of relief.  I’d equate it to the year the Diamondbacks beat the Yankees in the World Series.  That D-Back team was full of mutts.  I was no Diamondback fan, but in the situation you do what you have to do.  That’s my feeling on the results tonight.  I wasn’t happy about it.  I just took a little bit of pleasure in knowing Miami didn’t get there this year, and that was important to me for probably an irrational reason. Now, Miami can go ahead and win a title if they want to.  As long as it didn’t happen this first year I can live with whatever else happens. You just have to look at all the Mavs fans in the stands to understand my point.  I wouldn’t be surprised if next year they start having trouble selling out Heat games.  Such is life on South Beach.

I’m not sure what else this championship for the Mavericks means aside from getting Kidd and Dirk off that list.  My thoughts a couple of days ago were that a Dallas title would offer some hope for teams who perpetually fall short.  The Chargers, for example.  Or, the Eagles.  Especially teams who commit to one system, or one coach, or one superstar for an extended period of time.  Dallas turned things around pretty quickly a decade ago, but they often weren’t a huge factor in a stacked Western Conference.  A good team, but not a great one.  I’m sure many in Dallas thought they’d go the entire Dirk era without a title.  If it didn’t happen this year, that might have been the case.  I guess this win speaks to the value of the re-tool.  In sports if you have a piece or two, you can always make a move, and things can change quickly if you make the right moves.  Dallas pulled the right strings this season.  Maybe another beleaguered fan base will be next.  Vancouver, anyone?

And, for the Heat, I’m not sure where they’ll go from here.  Before this series started most people had conceded the title to them.  But, if you remember, before the season started many experts thought the Heat wouldn’t be able to come together in just one season.  I’ll say they had that look about them a bit tonight, but do they just need more chemistry, or do they need more balance?  Will Spoelstra be gone?  You can’t love his chances.  And, what about the roster?  My selfish dream is for the Heat to trade Chris Bosh in the off-season.  That would be almost too perfect, but don’t they have to do something? This Dallas team didn’t strike me as a great team, and Miami couldn’t handle them.  With some of the young and upcoming teams out there I’m not sure a little dose of chemistry will be enough to get Miami over the top next season.

 

18 thoughts on “Mavs Remind Everyone of the Importance of Hate Bait.

  1. long time commenter, first time risk taker:

    so, i dunno. i know i’ve had the comparison talk with 3-Putt between Heat and Pats or Yankees, and 3-Putt was underwhelmed. maybe they are more hx of Lakers. but i imagine some of what you’re spelling out here is similar to the way people have felt about the Pats for sometime. I remember first year i moved to boston….boom, Tom Brady my heart. Superbowl Champs. and then turned into the impenetrable, rub it in our faces high scoring and undefeated peops you wish will expose an achilles heal. And the people outside the loop made fun of our team, our work ethic – yes, they are mine, they are always my family – you have seen the way i cry over Pats post season losses (maybe i am just sad to lose the air time of Tommy on the sidelines).

    my point: the thing i wanna say here, i have not found the Heat coach to be in any way villainous the way i see the Pat’s Bellawhatever. In fact, he is kind of likable. Yes, maybe because he looks like a super friendly ex of mine, but because – he was pretty humble throughout the season. deferring to his players for success (even though some simple minded people would say the players did it all, but with that amount of ego on the court he’s doing something), using words like frenetic to describe a game, and to be patient and protective when they were blundering mid-season.

    so, if there was any likabilility…it was the coach and the fact that at least one of the players on the Heat looks like Wayne Brady. and that is funny to Q. and that is all i will say for now. i am preparing myself to be ignored or slammed.

    whichever takes less energy…that said, I like the Mavericks story. happy Monday people. i wish it were a Sunday,…

    Q

    • well, there’s no comparison between spoelstra and belichick. most people probably think the players run the show in Miami with a little assist from Pat Riley.

      I dislike the Heat for the same reason the Patriots started making enemies, or sort of the same reason. The Pats became hated because all these new pats fans came out of the woodwork when they started winning and were vocal/obnoxious, etc. the true pat fans don’t even like these people.

      i think Miami is made up of mostly bandwagon and fraud fans, which is why I dislike the Heat. LeBron is like the cherry on top. I just don’t want to see bandwagon or fraud fans rewarded, which is why I was pulling for Dallas

      • well, i dunno. i think pats went through a few decades as – say Mavs fans did. not epic losers, like red sox or cubs, but, pats fans were happy to finally taste the brew of champion. i’ve been a pats fan since i was a kid. i have explained that on this blog. my dad coached a high school team, as you know, with a mascot the patriot, it’s a no brainer NFL transfer for 4 year old kids of coaches with pigtails and tankinis. then throw in my God, Brady, and move me to Boston. boom. i’m a lifer. no brainer. I’m a life long pats fan, and my name is Q. though, i could be swayed when Bella or Brady leaves.

        but i am sure JCK could talk me back down, off the ledge.

        Q

      • I’m not saying there weren’t true pats fans. I know there were. Just as there are true Heat fans (though that number has to be tiny). I’m just saying the nouveau pats fan really poisoned their national image and helped spread the hate.

      • which one am i? i think i’m both?? cause i like my brady. but i also like a solid defense and a good coach, though i do endorse cheating. gosh. i feel so conflicted. q

  2. Oh the Heat… what a bunch of biatches, i love how they always make one 3 point shot or some other timely shot and they start celebrating and acting like their shit don’t stink, even last night…umm you made a shot but you are 2 quarters away from losing the series. there were reports wade and bron were making fun of the fact Dirk was sick a couple games ago… i could go on, but its pointless – point being they are an immature bunch of babies… im happy Dirk won, he deserves it.

    in other news, i just saw that Stevie is gonna be on Adam Scott’s bag this weekend… maybe he’ll caddie for him too? heyy-ohh but in all seriousness im really looking forward to all the stevie-tiger divorce speculation this week. and if tiger had any sense of humor what so ever, they should probably stage a car crash and stevie chasing tiger with a wedge and then put that thing on youtube.

    • This is the only thing I don’t get. People read wayyyyy too much into the actions of the Heat players. Wade makes a three, holds his follow through and he’s celebrating. Jason Terry hits a three and spreads his wings as if he’s flying and it’s okay.

      The worst part of the series for me was how biased everyone was. I get there is hate, but don’t let it distort reality.

      As much as I wanted LeBron to win I have to admit he didn’t play. How many times did he drive down the lane finding himself three feet from the hoop only to dish it off. Or how many mid range jumpers did he pass up because he went with the extra pass to get a guy an open 3? At some point he needs to be more assertive.

      I just wish those who hated on the Heat could see things both ways.

  3. I agree about Jason Terry I don’t like him much either. And I also agree about Bron, the guy just refused to step up and preferred to stand in the corner and just pass the ball.

  4. And sure when bron decided to join wade there’s gonna be increased attention – and hate. But let’s keep in mind they brought the majority of the hate on themselves with all the preseason celebration… which among being stupid and obnoxious, can’t be good for team morale when they’re out doing 3man celebrations when there’s about 8 people on the team that play.

    • To add fuel to your fire, the Miami Herlad ran an ad in today’s paper from Macy’s congratulating the Heat for winning the title.

      I guess Miami really is a fraud sports town.

      Others include Atlanta, Boston (there’s a can of worms), and L.A.

  5. Was anyone else baffled by the Heat’s lack of urgency during the last six minutes of the game? It was like they had no idea what they were doing.

    And my conclusion from the series is that LeBron has some Vince Carter in him. Just throwing that out there. The man can stand around on the wing with the best of them.

  6. Haas great question. Unfortunately it’s not just free throws, he shoots 3’s like that too. Why he does this… i have no idea.

    DC I like the VC comparison… I hadn’t thought of that before, but I think it’s pretty accurate.

  7. It sounds like people are getting caught up in what the media likes to do. They judge these guys way to early in their careers. Before 1997, 13 or 14 years into his career, John Elway was a failure. By 1999, he was one of the all time greatest QBs, if not the best QB in NFL history according to some.

    I watched LeBron James score 35 of the Cavs’ final 36 points to beat the Pistons, who had won 4 or 5 straight Eastern Conference titles, in Game 5 of the 2007 Eastern Conference Finals. On the road. That game essentially ended the series. The Cavs were simply not good enough to beat the Celtics or the Magic the last 2 years. LeBron simply called more attention to himself because he played horribly.

    I think he’s a total punk and a coward in some ways, but I don’t think he is anything like Vince Carter. And I would say he’s more of an Elway right now than a McNabb.

  8. Hey, we’re all in control of our own destiny. If LeBron wants to carry his team on his back to two straight championships, more power to him. My point is he’s not going to get there unless he plays more like a hall-of-famer and less like a guy who stands around on the wing and doesn’t want to or know how to dig it out. He couldn’t score on JJ Barea!!!

  9. Vin-sanity seems harsh, because that is like the ultimate insult for a basketball player these days. it’s almost as bad as being compared to McNabb.

    I have to say I thought LeBron got a little too much crap for what happened in Cleveland. That last Celtics series was a little suspicious, but other than that, I think he did his share for the most part.

    This year was just strange. What happened between the Conference Finals and the NBA Finals. Again, I don’t really think Dallas is a juggernaut…

    Elway never got over the hump partially because the AFC was just a total piece of garbage for all those years. Id venture in some of those season a good 3 or 4 teams from the NFC would have throttled the Broncos. And, so because the AFC was weak he could kind of carry the team to the Bowl, but then reality set in. The Broncos were in a lot of games they didn’t deserve to be in. Maybe you could make that argument for the Cavs when they made the Finals, but this year, Miami looked like the better team coming in, and the just collapsed after the end of game 4.

    Some of that has to go on LeBron, it’s not career defining (yet), but it could be, and you can’t ignore it.

  10. I just think it’s up to LeBron to say, I’m the best player on the floor and I’m 6’8 and 270 pounds or whatever, if you guard me with Jason Kidd and JJ Barea I am going to dunk on their head every time down the floor. It blows my mind that he didn’t do that.

    And I’m not out to prove something about the guy. I like watching greatness even when I don’t particularly like the athlete. It’s just that I’m flabbergasted by what I saw during this series.

  11. I’m also tired of Dwayne Wade. He’s a punk too. It’s one thing to say you don’t like somebody (Bird-Magic, Kobe-Shaq), but don’t start pointing out your peers’ on-court shortcomings.

    Nobody seems to bring up the fact that every “great” player that has won a championship has at least made a strong showing while defending the title. Not Dwayne Wade. Guy got swept out in the 2nd round en route to earning the 2nd pick in the draft the following year. Did they wheel him out of the locker room last night in a wheel chair to show just how hurt he was?

Leave a Reply

