Hurricane Coverage

Manayunk: Still Sweet.

Why do people live in Manayunk anyway?  It floods.  It’s impossible in the snow.  Basically any kind of precipitation and you’re screwed.  It was a good, solid, job by Hurricane Irene on the flooding front.  I did a little driving/storm perusal yesterday and how should I put this…there was a lot of water where there isn’t usually water.  I’ve added don’t move near a giant creek and/or river to my mental checklist.  And, I guess if you do, make sure your house is way up on some aristocratic hill.  Water can be a bitch.

Sitting here with my electricity and dry surrounds, it’s pretty easy for me to dismiss Hurricane Irene as a big overreaction.  We certainly didn’t get the foot of rain that was in the forecast.  I hate to think of what things would look like if we did, but from a wind standpoint, and everything else aside from raging flood waters, I was a little underwhelmed with Irene.  I imagine it was the doomsday style coverage.  Was it weird for anyone else watching Hurricane Schwartz actually forecast a hurricane?  It didn’t feel right.  It was like watching Catfish Hunter in the Bass Pro Classic or something.  I felt his nickname immediately became trite and idiotic.  Maybe I’m the only one that felt that way.

Anyway, Hurricane Schwartz was leading the charge in coverage that was pretty over the top.  At one point, he said, “This is how people die in Category 1 Hurricanes.”  Ok, then.  The problem with the coverage is that it has to cater to human stupidity.  You’d like to think that you don’t have to remind people not to attempt to plow their car through 6 feet of raging storm current.  But, you do have to remind them of that, because while someone in a Prius might get a little intimidated by white water rushing down their local avenue, there’s probably also someone in an F-350 who wants to cross the street just so he can say, “Water ain’t bother me none.”

It’s an ongoing battle between common sense and man’s natural inclination toward idiocy and adventure.  It’s why no matter how bad the storm is there will always be someone surfing in the ocean.  Or there will always be someone who insists on staying with their house out on some barrier island.  It’s the job of the news to batter those people enough that they finally give in, and do the smart thing.  After 24-hours of straight coverage maybe someone finally says, “Ok, I’m going to listen to the fella in the bow-tie.”

What I’m saying is, I think we should all be relieved when it wasn’t quite as bad as we were expecting and not annoyed that we couldn’t cruise around on New York’s subway yesterday.  I’m sure there are some people with about 10 cases of Poland Spring sitting in their garage right now and no immediate use for it, but I guess it’s better than the alternative.  I’ve reached my limit on weather coverage, though, that’s for sure.  So, I hope we can maybe enjoy some less destructive trends at least until the first Blizzard ’11 coverage.

The real tragedyof it is, it took a hurricane to produce what might be the nicest day of the whole summer.  It’s absolutely gorgeous out there.  Not a speck of humidity.  Seventy degrees.  It’s a shame there probably isn’t a golf course within 100 miles that has a grain of sand in any bunker or isn’t 85% casual water, because everyone should really be out on the course today.  Or outside doing something at least, go take a stroll and listen to the sweet melody of song birds and chainsaws.

 

8 thoughts on “Hurricane Coverage

  1. “It’s an ongoing battle between common sense and man’s natural inclination toward idiocy and adventure.”

    That statement sums up every single weather event that has ever occurred in the United States. Especially in the South where I live. The “Hey y’all, watch this!” mentality overrides rational thought every single time.

    Fantastic post. Loved it.

  2. This is a solid post, agree with Ole Miss…

    I have to say, junkfood stashed, water stocked, ice to cool a small village, I was at least hoping to hear or see one of those trees fall right out of their roots. That’s the emotional, idiot side of me. The reasonable side, and yes, I have fraction of one: relieved.

    I kept thinking about people who rely on electricity and access to emergency medical centers for survival. And well, I think they survived this one…not sure I can say the same about the beloved Manayunk Brewery. Think they just spent a pretty penny remodeling that shack. Oh well…let’s just be zen and unattached to the way she was…Q

  3. Effects of hurricane were not overstated in Vermont. Damage is catastrophic here. We suffered dramatic flooding in Chelsea that was only marginally destructive. Other communities not so lucky. Many towns are completely stranded right now as the roads on both ends of town have been destroyed.

  4. oh, so sorry to hear this DC. hope you, personally, are okay.
    thought the storm would have died once it was in-land that long.

    YIKES.

    Q

  5. HOLY CRAP, from your prompt, I just went to look at footage. Waterbury looks insane. Brattleboro looks rocked too….love that town, had spent a bit of time there during grad school years in Western Mass.

    Q

  6. Nice Kid-sploitation.

    Oh sweetie, you want to go to bed? Sorry, we have to do one more take, don’t forget the cats and dogs line, I’m shooting for 1 million hits.

    • well, the parents had me at the stuffed puppy dog.

      that’s just excellent script writing.

      maybe Miss PA just needs more stuffed animals and 5 year olds?

      Q

Leave a Reply

