It’s President’s Day.

Act Accordingly.

President’s Day always sneaks up on me a bit.  I’m not sure what that says about my respect for the office.  It’s definitely the holiday I’m most likely to show up at bank, or a post office and get a little surprise.  I think President’s Day needs a gimmick.  There are no gifts.  No candy.  No fireworks.  No grilling.  No fictional character.  And, depending on who you talk to, no revisionist history.  That’s boring.   Anyway, let me get this over with before I hit up Obama for a quick nine.  All that guy does is play golf.  

***

Cole Hamels press conference at 1 pm today on Comcast and CSNPhilly.  Tune in to read between the lines.  I’m not sure the fan base can handle a full season of Hamels speculation.  That is, if Hamels pitches well.  If he throws in a couple bad starts the standard Hamels distaste will seep in (People from California are Weird) and we’ll be fine with a wait and see approach.  Let the Yankees have him.  He’s no Cliff Lee.  I’m expecting Hamels to have a good year, though, which means heightening pressure on Ruben Amaro.  I think there’s a 25% chance the Phillies definitely don’t have the money for Hamels, Ruben just doesn’t know how to say it yet.  

The Phillies seem very aware of the luxury tax for this season and next, shaving a few hundred thousand off the payroll here and there.  The Valdez trade, adding a year to Kendrick’s deal (why sign Kendrick for 1 year when you can sign him for two?), all this points to the payroll having a definite ceiling.   I’m just not sure the Phils are ready to dump 160 million on Cole and wait for the fabled “TV money” to kick in.  Anyway, listen to the press conference.  Maybe Cole sets a deadline for negotiations, hints at going to the highest bidder, who knows.  Just remember his creepy West Coast voice does not impact his pitching.  

***

Roy Halladay bought Jamie Moyer's 1st Car.

The most interesting things to happen in Spring Training so far (DAY 2–get pumped) are new closer Johnny Paps gifting Antonio Bastardo a Rolex in exchange for #58 and Roy Halladay showing up to the complex in this 1932 Ford.  If some superstar wanted my number I’d be a TOTAL d*ck about it.  I’d say things like, “Oh, baby wants his number?”  Then I’d demand insane ransoms.  What am I going to do with a watch?  In all seriousness, I think I’d give up the number for nothing or not give it up at all.  Do you want to walk around all year with “that watch that Paps bought you,” on your wrist?  That seems odd.  As for Roy, I’m not totally comfortable with him having any interests outside of baseball.  You like cars?  Does that interfere with your plyometrics, Roy?  I better not see Auto Trader on your iPad when you should be looking at video of hitters.  I’m going to let this go for now, but the next time I see Roy, he better be behind the wheel of something a little more nondescript.  

***

Raul Ibanez to the Yankees for Laynce Nix money and Roy Oswalt is still without a team.  Oswalt is throwing off a real Favre vibe all of a sudden.  Look at the timeline.  He doesn’t know if he’s going to play at all.  Then he is going to play.  He’s drastically overestimated his own value.  He won’t play for certain teams.  He’s not in a hurry to sign anywhere–why would some guy who has trouble staying healthy need Spring Training?  I guess we’ll always owe Roy for that hot stretch to close out 2010, but he never quite sat right with me for some reason.  It’ll be interesting to see where he finally ends up.  I’m sure Ruben is still trying to figure out how to afford the guy.  

***

Philly Mick, the old swashbuckler, the man who brings that goofy grin to your living room every weekend kept me on the chilly periphery of picking golf winners.  After Thursday Phil had very little going on, especially with the putter.  An event he could have (should have?) won going away ended up in a playoff only because of dueling 18th hole heroics by the left-hander and Keegan Bradley.  I’ll say the tail-end of 5 straight weeks could have sapped Phil’s closing ability, but it was still a good stretch of golf for a guy who was supposed to be cooked a few weeks ago.  My takeaway from the weekend was the strong U.S. showing.  Three Americans in the playoff, and several others playing well.  This is great fuel for my anti-Euro bent, especially with the World Match Play coming this week.  Here are the brackets.  I’m sure the experts will be heavily invested in Rory, Luke, Marty Kaymer, but they’ve had their day.  I’m ready for an All-American final.  Let’s take this b*tch over like Wimbledon in ’99.  

***

The Flyers are trying to corner the market on 3rd and 4th defensemen.  They traded for Nicklas Grossman and Pavel Kubina over the weekend.  This came on the heels of a 6-4 thrashing at the hands of Pittsburgh on Saturday.  The Flyers have also been linked to Rick Nash.  To this point, the Flyers haven’t mortgaged any of their young stars in these deals.  Typical Flyers M.O. right now would be to swiftly send Schenn, Courturier, JVR and Read out of town for some veteran like Nash.  I’m praying that doesn’t happen.  This is not the year for the Flyers.  I said on my wildly unpopular Twitter feed (If I don’t hit a million followers by Thursday, I’m quitting) that the Flyers are just trading for the sake of trading at this point.  Their issues go deeper than a fix that Grossman or Kubina could bring.  

***

All right, that’s it for now.  As the great Keith High says, “Happy Holidays.”  

 

5 thoughts on “It’s President’s Day.

  1. Seriously thought that was a picture of Funk. If you buy a convertible your head can’t go above the windshield. That’s my only rule.

  2. Hah. Yeh, windshield coverage is Key.

    Cole Updates:

    1. No deadline
    2. Hearts his agent
    3. Danced around “hometown discount”
    4. Kinda sounded like he likes being 1 of 3 aces

  3. I really liked the US showing this weekend too, especially that they were making huge putts when it mattered. Phil’s bomb, then Bradley stepping up, then Haas’ tap in on the second playoff hole.

  4. yeah, after the collapses of the previous weeks it was nice to mix it up a little bit with more than one guy playing well. Even though Phil and Keegan only shot even par, it was clearly a course everyone (except Sergio) was having some trouble with Sunday.

    This is a big week for the Americans, I think. I won’t be able to bear it if the final four is Poulter, Donald, Rory and Lee Westwood or something. I hope they’re all in the same bracket.

    At least Casey isn’t playing. That mutt is always good for at least a few wins in this.

Leave a Reply

