Two Weeks To March Madness.

Syracuse is 29-1. (Impressed Whistle)

I need a massive cram session on college basketball.  Just when you think couldn’t pay any less attention to a sport a new year dawns and you’re further into the darkness.  I blame Villanova.  My on again, off again bandwagon affair with the Wildcats is not flourishing this season.  Nova is 11-17.  They’re 4-12 in the conference.  They’re not even going to make the NIT.  They’re so bad right now if they wanted to get into a tournament, they’d have to host their own.  I think Jay Wright has been spending a little too much time on his wardrobe?  At the very least, he’s whiffed on entire recruiting classes.  With Nova so down, and the Big East a little down my number of games watched has dropped from the usual one per week to a big fat doughnut.  Zero.  Of course, that won’t stop me from shamelessly jumping on Temple once the tournament actually starts.  Cherry and White, baby.

***

Since I know absolutely nothing about college basketball, I thought I’d take a gander at the top-5 teams in the country and fill out little questionnaires on them.  I’m hoping that someone out there can fill in some valuable information for me.  I’d like to know which one of these teams is going to win the National Title.  Considering how little I know, I should start winning NCAA pools anytime now.

#1 Kentucky 28-1

Word Association:  Pitino, Jamal Mashburn, Ashley Judd, Jared Lorenzen

Current Players I Know:  Anthony Davis

Least Favorite All-Time Player:  Saul Smith

Chances I’ll Pick Them to Make the Final Four:  100%

#2 Syracuse 29-1

Word Association:  Lawrence Moten, Derrick Coleman, Donovan McNabb, Jim Boeheim

Current Players I know:  None.

Least Favorite Player of All-Time:  Eric Devendorf

Chances I’ll Pick Them to Make the Final Four:  60%

#3 Duke 25-4

Word Association:  Hate, Coach K, Wojo, Dookies

Current Players I Know:  Plumlees, Austin Rivers, Seth Curry

Least Favorite Player of All-Time:  Thomas Hill

Chances I’ll Pick Them to Make the Final Four:  50%

#4 Kansas 24-5

Word Association:  Roy Williams, Danny Manning, Greg Ostertag, Jayhawk

Current Players I know:  None

Least Favorite Player of All-Time:  Paul Pierce

Chances I’ll Pick Them to Make the Final Four:  55%

#5  Michigan State

Word Association:   Izzo, Magic, Mateen Cleaves, Shawn Respert

Current Players I Know:  None

Least Favorite Player of All-Time:  Eric Snow

Chances I’ll Pick Them to Make the Final Four:  15%

13 thoughts on “Two Weeks To March Madness.

  1. what’s Saul Smith up to these days? I hated him so much that near the end of his “career” i started to feel bad for him

  2. He really was a whipping boy. And just awful, awful hair.

    Maybe you can break down Nova’s woes for us. I mean, is Jay Wright regretting that he didn’t bolt at this point?

    He doesn’t look like he could coach gym at this point.

  3. well i won’t bore you with an analysis of their season other than say bad players + bad coach = awful season

    perhaps you are wondering who Novas best win came against this year? well the correct answer is they don’t have one… but if you are forced to pick one, i think maybe you’d argue Providence or you could also look to Seton Hall and St. Johns….and Penn

Leave a Reply

