Week 12 NFL Picks.

Need Some Genius In These Picks.

Need Some Genius In These Picks.

I really did a lot of dipsh*t things as a kid.  Not necessarily dangerous, or harmful, but really odd as hell.  One of the weirdest?  I would occasionally wear a shower cap.  We had a polka dot shower cap in the bathroom, one of those random items in a vanity, or linen closet that just appears out of nowhere.  You don’t have a fully stocked bathroom unless you have a shower cap. Perhaps this is something you learned from hotel rooms in the 80s?  I’m not sure.  Anyway, there was NEVER any reason for me to wear the shower cap.  I wasn’t protecting a perm.  I wasn’t even particularly interested in keeping my hair dry.  I’d often take the shower cap off mid-shower and proceed as normal.  I was just being a dipsh*t in a shower cap.  Moving on…

Week 12 Beer:  Evil Genius Brewing Evil Eye PA

We’re back after a one week hiatus with a new beer. This time from local brewery, Evil Genius.  Saw this at good old Wegmans for the first time and decided to give it a shot.  This despite Celebration Ale being out–so expectations were high.

Am I sorry I didn’t get Sierra–Pretty Much.

I wanted to like this beer.  It’s local.  I consider myself a bit of a genius.  So, special connection.  And, I was actually pretty excited when I poured the beer into a glass, but then I remembered that amber color looks a lot better than it tastes.  I don’t know that this is a bad beer as much as it doesn’t really remind you of a traditional IPA, or APA.  As I skimmed through some reviews, several beer asshats talked about the excessive maltiness, and I assume this is what was turning me off.  I’ll drink them, but a bit of a swing and a miss this week.  Brewing beer not as easy as it looks.

Top 10 to Date:

  1. The Alchemist–Heady Topper
  2. Southern Tier 2X IPA
  3. Bear Republic Racer 5 IPA
  4. Shed IPA
  5. Bell’s Midwestern Pale Ale
  6. Casco Bay IPA
  7. Anderson Valley Hop Ottin’ IPA
  8. Evil Genius Brewing Evil Eye PA
  9. Deschutes Brewery IPA
  10. Otter Creek Hop Session Ale

Winning Bets, Please….

***

Kraft, 33-20-2

  1. Indianapolis (+2.5) ovcr Arizona
  2. Jacksonville (+10) over Houston
  3. Denver (-2.5) over New England
  4. Kansas City (-4.5) over San Diego
  5. Tampa Bay (+9) over Detroit

***

DC, 25-26-4

Chicago (+1) over St. Louis.  Both of these teams are flawed and really no result here would surprise me, but I think Chicago is generally the better team at this point and wins the game more often than not.

Baltimore (-3.5) over New York Jets.  Another D.A. Hall of Fame performance leaves the Jets floundering and Rex Ryan back on the hot seat.

Indianapolis (+2.5) over Arizona.  Again, as between flawed teams, Indy wins this game more often than not.

Denver (-2.5) over New England.  Obviously, can’t wait for this game, but Denver has advantages almost everywhere on the field, and I think this line is a little low.  4.5 points and I would think about going the other way.  Denver, 31-27.

Pittsburgh (+1.5) over Cleveland.  If Pittsburgh wins this game they are kinda, sorta in decent position to make a run at a wild-card spot.

***

JCK, 24-30-1

  1. Kansas City (-4.5) over San Diego
  2. Pittsburgh (-1.5) over Cleveland
  3. Chicago (+1) over St. Louis
  4. San Francisco (-6) over Washington
  5. Indianapolis (+2.5) over Arizona

***

Grossy, 30-22-3

Miami (+4.5) over Carolina.  Standard letdown scenario.  I really have a Panthers stink bomb in my mind.  So much that I’m probably not going to start Cam Newton in fantasy.  That’s serious business.  But really, the Panthers and Ron Don Rivera are just not good enough to cruise into the playoffs without a hiccup.  It gets ugly on South Beach.

Baltimore (-3.5) over New York Jets.  Is there a pattern to Geno Smith’s performances?  I can’t imagine that on the road in Baltimore is a spot where he figures it out again.  Ray Rice goes back to sucking, but the Ravens go ahead and pull this one out.  Hopefully by about 4 points–or more.

St. Louis (-1) over Chicago.  The Rams have screwed me on multiple occasions this year already.  This is where I flip and probably still lose.  I can’t even put into words how much I hate the lines this week, but we’re committed for five picks.  My reasoning here is if Ray Rice runs for 100 yards against Chicago then Zac “Morris” Stacy is going to look like Eric Dickerson. Go ahead and throw on a pair of goggles.  He’s going for 2 bills.

New England (+2.5) over Denver.  Looks too easy for Denver.  New England banged up, Welker returns, Peyton in Prime Time–etc.  But, this is THE GAME for New England this year.  Brady probably hates Manning more than the refs and remember–the Broncos can’t stop anyone.  Take the home team.

New York Giants (-2.5) over Dallas.  Feels right.  These teams have played some really ugly games recently.  Eli actually looks like a professional QB against Dallas’ secondary.  The G-Men are back rolling.  They stink, but they’re rolling.

 ***

Nichols, 25-29-2

  1. Pittsburgh (+1.5) over Cleveland
  2. Tennessee (-1) over Oakland
  3. New York Giants (-2.5) over Dallas
  4. San Francisco (-6) over Washington
11 thoughts on “Week 12 NFL Picks.

  1. You are another level of bad when you are getting 10 points from a 2-8 team who is starting their back-up QB. You’re London Jaguars…..maybe Pippa can get the game ball after a Jaguar W

  2. Can we take a moment to talk about their running game?

    And, the Cardinals with Carson Palmer at the helm are 7-4 and may cruise into the playoffs. Huge game in Philly next week!

    Joey Banner looking pretty good with that Richardson trade. I never thought Richardson was a great back, but I was totally wrong about that deal when it happened. I thought the Browns fans deserved a bit better, but they should be laughing their asses off now.

  3. Totally agree on Trent Richardson. Other than Adrian Peterson why would any team use a high pick on a RB? Teams plug in these 3/4/5/6 rd picks and they are just as productive. Trent can’t break the 3 yd per carry barrier.
    Also, looks like Greg Sciano might have been right- glennon looks like a total doofus but he actually looks like an NFL starter, much better than the josh freeman experiment…

  4. Yeah, I saw that. Mikey Mart inspires great rage and creativity. It is amazing that a team with the Phillies’ payroll and self perception could have Michael Martinez on the roster for 3 years. And, Martinez is just the worst example. Countless other names have come and gone during this abrupt decline that would hardly stand a chance to stick in AAA with another team.

    The Phillies as a team peaked in 2008, or maybe 2010, but as an organization they peaked years before that. Their minor league system has been so bad they don’t even have respectable organizational filler.

    And, that’s the most concerning thing about this current off-season with Marlon Byrd,etc. I don’t think Byrd is a terrible signing, it’s not a good signing. It doesn’t make any real sense, because the team isn’t going to be good, but it’s just Marlon Byrd for two years. Chooch for 3 is worse… But, as the team at the major league level tries desperately to hang onto some scraps, the organization as a whole may still be getting worse, or at least isn’t getting any better.

    I hate the Cardinals and I’m actually not a Peter Bourjos guy really, but trading David Freese is an example of something the Phillies never would have done. Not only would they not have traded Freese, but it’s likely they would have signed him to some ridiculous deal after his career year that bought up all his arbitration, etc. The Cardinals just pay him one year at a time and when it’s obvious that David Freese probably isn’t going to be Scott Rolen they move him to get younger, cheaper and better defensively. WEIRD.

    Anyway, Ruben sucks, his days are numbered. I figure he has about 10 months and a week left at this point.

  5. Yeah, there were people in the comments at beerleaguer keeping track of his .1xx/.1xx/.1xx line all year it was a pretty exciting subplot.

Leave a Reply

