Week 13 NFL Picks — Finally.

The Pride Of New Hampshire.

The Pride Of New Hampshire.

Well, the games start in about 4 hours.  If I wait much longer, I’d be guaranteed to picks some winners.  This is what can happen.  Big holiday weekend.  Eating, shopping, had to dig the christmas tree out of the ground myself.  It’s that holiday time.  I won’t waste any more of it…

Week 13 Beer:  Smuttynose “Finestkind” IPA

I first had this beer a long time ago.  So long that I really didn’t remember it at all.  It was on tap at Quotations in Media, home to many a random brew.  Sometimes those nights at Quotations turn into a little bit of a haze when one beefy IPA gets poured on top of another.  But, I started seeing Smuttynose in six-packs, and despite me having no idea what the name means, I decided to try it again–for the first time.

Am I sorry I didn’t Get Sierra:  No.

Smuttynose packs a lot of punch.  At nearly 7% ABV, it’s an IPA with a distinct taste but you know from the first sip that you aren’t drinking a light beer.  It warms you up right away.  But, Smuttynose has all the classic IPA hops you’d be looking for and pours absolutely beautifully–if you’re into that kind of thing.  It’s a great beer to drink while you ease through a big, beefy dinner.

Top 10:

  1. The Alchemist, Heady Topper
  2. Southern Tier 2X IPA
  3. Smuttynose “Finestkind” IPA
  4. Bear Republic Racer 5 IPA
  5. Shed Brewing IPA
  6. Bell’s Midwestern Pale Ale
  7. Casco Bay IPA
  8. Anderson Valley Hop Ottin’ IPA
  9. Evil Genius Eye PA
  10. Deschutes Brewery IPA

***

JCK, 27-34-1

  1. Denver (-5.5) over Kansas City
  2. New England (-7.5) over Houston
  3. Miami (+2) over New York Jets

***

Kraft, 35-23-2

  1. Buffalo (-3) over Real Housewives of Atlanta
  2. Seattle (-4.5) over New Orleans
  3. St. Louis (+8) over San Francisco
  4. Jacksonville (+7) over Cleveland
  5. Tampa Bay (+7.5) over Carolina

***

Nichols, 29-31-2

  1. Denver (-5.5) over Kansas City
  2. Chicago (+1) over Minnesota
  3. New York Giants (-1) over Washington

***

DC, 28-29-4

  1. San Francisco (-8) over St. Louis
  2. Miami (+2) over New York Jets
  3. San Diego (-1) over Cincinnati
  4. Minnesota (-1) over Chicago

***

Grossy, 34-23-3

Chicago (+1) over Minnesota.  Wrong team’s favored.  That’s one of my all-time favorite tout lines.  But, really, Minnesota giving points is awfully tempting.  What’s the worst thing that could happen, they tie?  This is 53 guys against Adrian Peterson.  I’ll take the 53 guys by a whisker.

Arizona (+3) over Philadelphia.  Some warning signs for Arizona–they’re coming across the country.  They are coming off a big win.  Some warning signs for Philly–they haven’t beaten a good team.  I’m nothing if not disturbingly stubborn, so I’m going to stick with this whole Nick Foles aberration thing until I’m proven right.  It may take 10 years, but it’s happening damnit.

Buffalo (-3) over Atlanta.  So, you think Atlanta, in their current state of grotesque deformity, is going to be fired up for this trip to Buffalo?  Forecast for Southern Toronto?  38 degrees with rain and snow showers.  Sounds like a dream for a dome team that’s given up on the season.  If Atlanta was a Tecmo Bowl season, they would have hit reset about 10 weeks ago.

New England (-7.5) over Houston.  The Texans have about as much appeal as a Port-0-Let in the Houston humidity. This is teams that have given up on their season…Number two.  The Patriots, on the other hand, should be more than happy to beat the Texans down by a couple of scores.  The only question is, will Bill Belichick screw over everyone with his RB rotation, or just 95% of fantasy players?

New Orleans (+4.5) over Seattle.  Mega Revenge Game.  This is at least double revenge, if not triple.  I’m not going to say, “well the Seahawks will lose at home eventually,” even though that is 100% accurate.  I just think New Orleans is going to get the better of them this time.  And, as not to waiver and back into a cover I’ll later take credit for–I’m expecting outright here.

 

6 thoughts on “Week 13 NFL Picks — Finally.

  1. On another note I finally scored a 4-pack of Heady Topper over the weekend. It is…good. I have access to Smuttynose and Shed all the time here, and those are my two favorites usually, but the silver can was pretty damn impressive. Bonus points for the retro-college value of drinking out of a can.

    I don’t think you’re into dark IPAs but if so, Otter Creek makes a nice one.

  2. Who me? I think you mean 0-4-1. Big Difference.

    Yeah, Shed was a good find for me. I will definitely have more of it once I stop trying all these random beers. Four more weeks to go.

Leave a Reply

