Santa Let Me Win A Few…

My How We've Fallen.

My How We’ve Fallen.

I don’t expect people to play board games anymore.  If you are under 20 the whole concept may be foreign to you.  I think many board games were designed to waste as much time as possible and we now have 17 second attention spans.  It’s tough to get people to carve out an afternoon for one of the classics. But regardless of the game, or the time commitment, some people just don’t want to play.  I think that makes them slightly odd and poor sports, but FINE–don’t play.  I can live with that.  What can’t I live with?  Someone playing Damn You Autocorrect.  I don’t know what the rules are, I don’t care about the objective, this is how I know that games are never going to be what they used to be.  I’m not above laughing at an autocorrect, but it’s no game.  It’s the equivalent of sitting around reading Buzzfeed aloud. If someone breaks this out at your holiday gathering you have my permission to take them to jail.  Not Monopoly jail, real jail.

***

NFL Pick ‘EM Standings: 

  1. DC, 31-24
  2. Big Dub, 30-24-1
  3. Grossy, 36-34
  4. Kraft, 37-37-1
  5. Nichols, 34-35-1

Well, our two leaders both took the week off last week–a commendable and effective strategy.  If they don’t pick some losers, they’ll be tough to catch.  We’re also still just a bit on the wrong side of QUEST .500.  Ten games to go…

***

Big Dub:

  1. San Diego (+1) over San Francisco
  2. Pittsburgh (-3) over Kansas City
  3. Atlanta (+6) over New Orleans
  4. Green Bay (-11.5) over Tampa Bay
  5. Dallas (-3) over Indianapolis

***

Nichols:

  1. Philadelphia (-7.5) over Washington
  2. Green Bay (-11.5) over Tampa Bay
  3. New England (-10.5) over New York Jets
  4. New York Giants (+6.5) over St. Louis
  5. Buffalo (-6.5) over Oakland

***

Grossy:

Detroit (-8.5) over Chicago.  Things are pretty bad in Chicago, but are they Jimmy Clausen bad?  As one of my dear friends asked, “Is he from the pickle family?”  He might as well be.  This is Chicago’s chance to let their team know exactly how pissed off they are about this season and the Bears are going to oblige by getting throttled.  I’m just not sure if Cutler will come off the bench after Clausen’s 7th turnover.  Maybe just a few direct snaps to Neal Anderson.

Atlanta (+6) over New Orleans.  All NFC South games should be pick ’ems, and not televised.

St. Louis (-6.5) over New York Giants.  I’ll try the Rams as a favorite again, because I am a dolt. Someone out there is trying to tell us that the Rams are going to win some games comfortably, but given their offense, that rarely happens.  I think the G-Men are saving everything for next week, and Bad Eli leads the charge to an ass-kicking.

Indy (+3) over Dallas.  I wish I was a little bit taller, I wish I was a baller, I wish I had a girl who looked good I would call her.  I would play ghetto games.  Name my kids ghetto names. Little Mookie. Big Al. Lorraine.

Denver (-3) over Cincinnati.  The Bengals stink.  I stand by it.

Leave a Reply

