Opening Day.

Fore Everywhere.

It’s time.  Time to dust off the old sticks and sneak out for a round before the floods take us all away this weekend.  It’ll be good for me.  I need a day where I’m not following the Phillies spring training game on my Blackberry.  I’ll have to put my trust in Cole Hamels today, zipper up the phone, and see if I can locate that most mysterious of all locations known as the club face.

Golf opening day is one of the most hopeful times of the year.  I know some people prefer to live in warmer climes and bask in the year round golf that those locations provide, but personally I need my off-season.  Without it I wouldn’t be able to hope I have forgotten some bad habits.  I seem to have more in my golf swing than ever, and maybe a few of them went on hiatus during this 3-month stretch where I didn’t touch a club.  It’s common to play a decent round your first time out.  Of course, you’ll eventually get loose and fall back into all your old habits.

I could list the things that I hope have fixed themselves over the winter, but I have to leave in a little while here and that would be one long list.  I’m going to assume that I’ll putt badly.  Other than that, maybe I can just trot out some standard spring training speak.  “I’m just working on location.”  I’ll possibly let everyone know how I did out there.  I know at least one person who has tentatively invited me to a Member-Guest this year might be interested, or even on the phone with a replacement by this afternoon.  We’ll see.  I’m excited to get out there.  Hope springs eternal, or something.

***

This just got mentioned in the comments this morning, but in my ongoing quest to figure out my bracket this year, I am going to preemptively eliminate teams from my Final-8 regardless of their match-ups or any correlating upsets I might pick.  Essentially these are my would be top seeds that I am going to stay away from on gut instinct and principle.  For example, ‘Nova should have been on this list last year.

  1. Notre Dame
  2. BYU
  3. Syracuse
  4. Florida
  5. Purdue

***

You know a stat I’m impressed by?  Kevin Love’s double-double record.  Anytime you can put yourself in Moses Malone territory that is pretty good work.  And, it’s just a lot of rebounds.  I feel like anyone can score 10 points in the NBA on a regular basis, especially on a team like Minnesota.  But, to get the rebounds as well, proves that Love is trying and the Timberwolves miss an incredible amount of shots.  The unbreakable streaks in my own life:

  1. 53 straight lunches of soft pretzels and honey mustard–F&M College 2000.
  2. 51 straight rounds breaking 60 on NES OPEN–Winter 1993.
  3. 46 straight rounds of golf with at least one 3-putt.  May 2009-Present.
  4. 42 straight episodes of Californication downloaded illegally 2008-Present
  5. 27 straight NCAA brackets filled out without ever winning.  1988-Present.

***

Quiz of the Day:  Famous Michaels.  Category:  Great Names.  My Score: 25/30.

I think I’m going to get beaten here.  After I realized I wasn’t on the list I got flustered and mailed it in a little bit. Anyway, I’m off for the day.  Enjoy your Tuesday.  I assume Bachelor Ladies’ Reunion talk is dominating the water coolers today.  Riveting stuff.